Roddy Lumsden

(born 1966 - ) - St Andrews

Roddy Lumsden

Roddy Lumsden has published four books of poetry, most recently Mischief Night - New & Selected Poems (Bloodaxe). His fifth collection Third Wish Wasted is due in early 2008. Originally from St Andrews, he lives in London where he teaches at City University and Morley College. He has done editing work on several prize-winning poetry collections and is organiser and host of the reading series BroadCast in London. A popular performer of his work, he has read widely in the UK and the US and in Sweden, Ireland and the Philippines.

Former Vice Chair of the Poetry Society of Great Britain, he has been shortlisted for the TS Eliot Prize and several others and was awarded an ACE International Fellowship at the Banff Center in Ontario in 2001. He has also carried out several residency projects, including being poet-in-residence to the music industry and in a five-star hotel and golf resort. He also works as a puzzle and quiz writer and popular reference compiler / editor.

  • Cover scan of The Bells Of Hope
    The Bells Of Hope
    Roddy Lumsden - Paperback - Penned in the Margins
    'The Bells of Hope' is a series of 51 poems, all of them in a short form Lumsden has developed, in which metaphor and truth swirl in one short and three long lines. The poems collectively chart a time of change in the poet's life, delighting in unusual words and tumbling images, in poems whose titles run from A to Z and back to A.
  • Cover scan of Terrific Melancholy
    Terrific Melancholy
    Roddy Lumsden - Paperback - Bloodaxe
    This is Roddy Lumsden's 6th collection of poetry and it also contains a miscellany of new poems which display the poet's acclaimed inventiveness with form and structure and his breadth of approach.



  • Yeah Yeah Yeah (Bloodaxe 1997)
  • The Book of Love (Bloodaxe 2000)
  • Roddy Lumsden is Dead (Wrecking Ball Press 2001)
  • The Bubble Bride (chapbook - SAB / Akros 2003)
  • Mischief Night: New & Selected Poems (Bloodaxe 2004)
  • Super Try Again (chapbook - Donut Press 2007)
  • Third Wish Wasted - 2009
  • Terrific Melancholy - 2011
  • The Bells of Hope - 2012


  • Vitamin Q (Chambers 2004 / Houghton Mifflin 2005)