Poetry


There were 486 items found.
Showing page 1 from 49
  • BDS Thumbnail Image
    The Midnight Letterbox: Selected Letters
    Edwin Morgan - Paperback - Carcanet
    Edwin Morgan (1920-2010) was Scotland's first Makar (national poet), as well as an internationally renowned and widely anthologised poet, translator and critic. This selection includes candid and revealing letters to fellow writers, editors, lovers and other contemporaries.
  • Cover scan of The World's Wife
    The World's Wife
    Carol Ann Duffy - Paperback - Picador
    In Carol Ann Duffy's latest collection of poems, the stories of famous men - Midas, Darwin, Quasimodo, Pontious Pilate, King Kong - are presented from the perspective of the lesser-known wife.
  • BDS Thumbnail Image
    The Book Of Days
    Colin Will - Paperback - Red Squirrel
    Haibun is often a narrative of a journey, real or allegorical, and in this collection Colin Will writes of his travels, experiences, ideas and philosophy through the medium of haibun.
  • Cover scan of How They Fell
    How They Fell
    Annie Boutelle - Paperback - CavanKerry
    Through tender emotions and horrific events, this book's ironic point of view leads readers to re-imagine both historical and mythological events.
  • Cover scan of Two Countries
    Two Countries
    Katrina Porteous - Paperback - Bloodaxe Books
    Born in Scotland, Katrina Porteous grew up in North-East England. These poems explore the ambiguities of borderlands, from the Roman Wall to the present-day Anglo-Scottish Border, and the 'debatable lands' between tradition and modernity, real and ideal, country and town, 'nature' and 'culture'.
  • Cover scan of Eight Seasons
    Eight Seasons: Poems And Translations
    Alasdair Robertson Gordon - Paperback - Meltemi
    The 'Eight Seasons' refer to the changes of the year in two locations, Scotland and Greece. This collection includes modernist poems, haiku, humorous senryu and translations from the Greek, among which are ten new versions of poems by the Alexandrian poet C.P. Cavafy. The illustrations are by artists based in north-east Scotland.
  • Cover scan of Poems, Chiefly In The Scottish Dialect
    Poems, Chiefly In The Scottish Dialect
    Robert Burns - Paperback - Luath Press
    This was the first collection of poetry produced by Robert Burns. Published in Kilmarnock in July 1786 it has become known as 'The Kilmarnock Edition'. The contents include 44 of Burns' best known poems including 'To a Louse', 'The Cotter's Saturday Night', 'To a Mouse', 'The Twa Dogs' and 'To a Mountain Daisy'.
  • Cover scan of Crimsoning The Eagle's Claw
    Crimsoning The Eagle's Claw: The Viking Poems Of Ro̜gnvaldr Kali Kolsson, Earl Of Orkney
    Ro̜gnvaldr Kali Kolsson - Paperback - Arc Publications
    A genuinely unique European treasure, this volume bristles with all 33 of Rognvaldr's verses from the Orkneyinga Saga. While full of highly stylised, often grotesque images, the poems convey the skill, vigour and daring of the original.
  • Cover scan of The Christmas Truce
    The Christmas Truce
    Carol Ann Duffy - Hardback - Picador
    Following in the tradition of 'Mrs Scrooge' and 'Another Night Before Christmas', Carol Ann Duffy offers us another charming and original festive poem.
  • Cover scan of Not All Honey
    Not All Honey
    Roddy Lumsden - Paperback - Bloodaxe Books
    Two words, 'hope' and 'doubt', dominate 'Not All Honey', the seventh full collection by Roddy Lumsden. These awkward cousins appear repeatedly as the poet 'fathoms the ingredient for happy' despite a tendency for the 'terrific melancholy' which named his last book.

Showing page 1 from 49