Poetry


There were 482 items found.
Showing page 1 from 49
  • Cover scan of The World's Wife

    £8.49
    The World's Wife
    Carol Ann Duffy - Paperback - Picador
    In Carol Ann Duffy's latest collection of poems, the stories of famous men - Midas, Darwin, Quasimodo, Pontious Pilate, King Kong - are presented from the perspective of the lesser-known wife.
  • BDS Thumbnail Image

    £7.64
    The Book Of Days
    Colin Will - Paperback - Red Squirrel
    Haibun is often a narrative of a journey, real or allegorical, and in this collection Colin Will writes of his travels, experiences, ideas and philosophy through the medium of haibun.
  • Cover scan of How They Fell
    How They Fell
    Annie Boutelle - Paperback - CavanKerry
    Through tender emotions and horrific events, this book's ironic point of view leads readers to re-imagine both historical and mythological events.
  • Cover scan of Eight Seasons
    Eight Seasons: Poems And Translations
    Alasdair Robertson Gordon - Paperback - Meltemi
    The 'Eight Seasons' refer to the changes of the year in two locations, Scotland and Greece. This collection includes modernist poems, haiku, humorous senryu and translations from the Greek, among which are ten new versions of poems by the Alexandrian poet C.P. Cavafy. The illustrations are by artists based in north-east Scotland.
  • Cover scan of Poems, Chiefly In The Scottish Dialect

    £8.49
    Poems, Chiefly In The Scottish Dialect
    Robert Burns - Paperback - Luath Press
    This was the first collection of poetry produced by Robert Burns. Published in Kilmarnock in July 1786 it has become known as 'The Kilmarnock Edition'. The contents include 44 of Burns' best known poems including 'To a Louse', 'The Cotter's Saturday Night', 'To a Mouse', 'The Twa Dogs' and 'To a Mountain Daisy'.
  • Cover scan of Crimsoning The Eagle's Claw
    Crimsoning The Eagle's Claw: The Viking Poems Of Ro̜gnvaldr Kali Kolsson, Earl Of Orkney
    Ro̜gnvaldr Kali Kolsson - Paperback - Arc Publications
    A genuinely unique European treasure, this volume bristles with all 33 of Rognvaldr's verses from the Orkneyinga Saga. While full of highly stylised, often grotesque images, the poems convey the skill, vigour and daring of the original.
  • Cover scan of The Christmas Truce
    The Christmas Truce
    Carol Ann Duffy - Hardback - Picador
    Following in the tradition of 'Mrs Scrooge' and 'Another Night Before Christmas', Carol Ann Duffy offers us another charming and original festive poem.
  • Cover scan of Not All Honey
    Not All Honey
    Roddy Lumsden - Paperback - Bloodaxe Books
    Two words, 'hope' and 'doubt', dominate 'Not All Honey', the seventh full collection by Roddy Lumsden. These awkward cousins appear repeatedly as the poet 'fathoms the ingredient for happy' despite a tendency for the 'terrific melancholy' which named his last book.
  • Cover scan of Over The Moon
    Over The Moon
    Imtiaz Dharker - Paperback - Bloodaxe Books
    Imtiaz Dharker's main themes are drawn from a life of transitions: childhood, exile, journeying, home, displacement, religious strife and terror, and latterly, grief. She is also an accomplished artist, and all her collections are illustrated with her drawings, which form an integral part of her books. 'Over the Moon' is her fifth book from Bloodaxe. These are poems of joy and sadness, of mourning and celebration: poems about music and feet, church bells, beds, café tables, bad language and sudden silence.
  • Cover scan of Pirate Music
    Pirate Music
    Miriam Gamble - Paperback - Bloodaxe Books
    Miriam Gamble's second collection takes its title from unlicensed broadcasting. Here, the marginalia of prophecy coexist with and counter voices of authority, voices that are at once eerie and depressingly recognizable. An artist steals back paintings, leacing the money in their wake, and scores a cameo on 'Crimewatch'; a figure from medieval memento mori art finds himself up against a consumer deaf to the language of symbolism; animal anti-heroes spit in the face of well-meaning, or not so well-meaning, human interest. This book questions the narratives, including those forged by art itself, by which we shape the world to suit our own devices and steel ourselves against 'what we cannot name or see'.

Showing page 1 from 49