Poetry


There were 476 items found.
Showing page 1 from 48
  • BDS Thumbnail Image

    £7.64
    The World's Wife
    Carol Ann Duffy - Paperback - Picador
    In Carol Ann Duffy's latest collection of poems, the stories of famous men - Midas, Darwin, Quasimodo, Pontious Pilate, King Kong - are presented from the perspective of the lesser-known wife.
  • BDS Thumbnail Image

    £7.64
    The Book Of Days
    Colin Will - Paperback - Red Squirrel
    Haibun is often a narrative of a journey, real or allegorical, and in this collection Colin Will writes of his travels, experiences, ideas and philosophy through the medium of haibun.
  • Cover scan of The Christmas Truce

    £11.24
    The Christmas Truce
    Carol Ann Duffy - Hardback - Picador
    Following in the tradition of 'Mrs Scrooge' and 'Another Night Before Christmas', Carol Ann Duffy offers us another charming and original festive poem.
  • Cover scan of Not All Honey

    £8.46
    Not All Honey
    Roddy Lumsden - Paperback - Bloodaxe Books
    Two words, 'hope' and 'doubt', dominate 'Not All Honey', the seventh full collection by Roddy Lumsden. These awkward cousins appear repeatedly as the poet 'fathoms the ingredient for happy' despite a tendency for the 'terrific melancholy' which named his last book.
  • Cover scan of Over The Moon

    £8.46
    Over The Moon
    Imtiaz Dharker - Paperback - Bloodaxe Books
    Imtiaz Dharker's main themes are drawn from a life of transitions: childhood, exile, journeying, home, displacement, religious strife and terror, and latterly, grief. She is also an accomplished artist, and all her collections are illustrated with her drawings, which form an integral part of her books. 'Over the Moon' is her fifth book from Bloodaxe. These are poems of joy and sadness, of mourning and celebration: poems about music and feet, church bells, beds, cafeĢ tables, bad language and sudden silence.
  • Cover scan of Pirate Music

    £8.46
    Pirate Music
    Miriam Gamble - Paperback - Bloodaxe Books
    Miriam Gamble's second collection takes its title from unlicensed broadcasting. Here, the marginalia of prophecy coexist with and counter voices of authority, voices that are at once eerie and depressingly recognizable. An artist steals back paintings, leacing the money in their wake, and scores a cameo on 'Crimewatch'; a figure from medieval memento mori art finds himself up against a consumer deaf to the language of symbolism; animal anti-heroes spit in the face of well-meaning, or not so well-meaning, human interest. This book questions the narratives, including those forged by art itself, by which we shape the world to suit our own devices and steel ourselves against 'what we cannot name or see'.
  • Cover scan of Angel Voices

    £12.99
    Angel Voices: The Poetry Of Scott Hastie
    Scott Hastie - Paperback - Centuria
    In response to cross-cultural and growing worldwide interest, 'Angel Voices' is the most substantial and comprehensive edition of Scott Hastie's poetry published to date. Scott writes meditative, reflective poetry that is steeped in the traditions of English verse. The overarching theme of his work being a personal investigation into the positive potential of the human spirit.
  • BDS Thumbnail Image

    £240.00
    The Edinburgh Edition Of Walter Scott's 'Minstrelsy Of The Scottish Border'
    - Hardback - Edinburgh University Press
    This 3-volume edition presents nearly 100 poems and songs, many of them containing fascinating narratives of death, murder and abductions. It also includes his extended essays on history and the supernatural.
  • Cover scan of Selected Poems

    £12.74
    Selected Poems
    Kate Clanchy - Paperback - Picador
    These are poems about men and boys, school and home, the foreign and the familiar, and the grand adventure of parenthood, but above all about love in all its forms.
  • BDS Thumbnail Image

    £8.49
    Sorley Maclean: Selected Poems
    Somhairle MacGill-Eain - Paperback - Polygon
    This selected works of Sorley MacLean brings together published poetry from MacLean's own edited volumes of poetry. The poems will be given in their original Gaelic with English translations.

Showing page 1 from 48