BooksfromScotland.com Online Price

BooksfromScotland.com special book price button
There were 507 items found.
Showing page 6 from 51
  • Cover scan of All The Rage
    All The Rage
    A. L. Kennedy - Hardback - Jonathan Cape
    Here, as before, lies the battlefield of the heart, where characters who have suffered disaffection, alienation or emotional damage somehow emerge - haltingly, awkwardly - into the astonishment of intimacy. And here, too, are the ones who will not shake off the hurt and the loss, who will not come through. The title story takes place on a railway platform, with a couple waiting for a train that never comes, and opens out into the husband's shocking admission of years of deceit, and a devastating portrait of a failed marriage, a failed man.
  • Cover scan of The Amber Fury
    The Amber Fury
    Natalie Haynes - Hardback - Corvus
    When Alex Morris loses her fiancé in dreadful circumstances, she moves from London to Edinburgh to make a break from the past. Alex takes a job at a Pupil Referral Unit, which accepts the students excluded from other schools in the city. These are troubled, difficult kids and Alex is terrified of what she's taken on. There is one class - a group of five teenagers - who intimidate Alex and every other teacher on The Unit. But with the help of the Greek tragedies she teaches, Alex gradually develops a rapport with them. Finding them enthralled by tales of cruel fate and bloody revenge, she even begins to worry that they are taking her lessons to heart, and that a whole new tragedy is being performed, right in front of her.
  • Cover scan of The Art Of War
    The Art Of War
    Manda Scott - Paperback - Corgi Books
    Rome, AD 69. Three Emperors have ruled in Rome this year and a fourth, Vespasian, has been named in the East. As the legions march toward civil war, Sebastos Pantera, the spy whose name means leopard, returns to Rome intent on bribery, blackmail and persuasion: whatever it takes to bring the commanders and their men to Vespasian's side. But in Rome, as he uses every skill he has ever learned of subterfuge, codes and camouflage, it becomes clear that one of those closest to him is a traitor, who will let Rome fall to destroy him. Together the two spies spin a web of deceit with Rome as the prize and death the only escape.
  • Cover scan of The Art Of War
    The Art Of War
    Manda Scott - Paperback - Corgi Books
    Rome, AD 69. Three Emperors have ruled in Rome this year and a fourth, Vespasian, has been named in the East. As the legions march toward civil war, Sebastos Pantera, the spy whose name means leopard, returns to Rome intent on bribery, blackmail and persuasion: whatever it takes to bring the commanders and their men to Vespasian's side. But in Rome, as he uses every skill he has ever learned of subterfuge, codes and camouflage, it becomes clear that one of those closest to him is a traitor, who will let Rome fall to destroy him. Together the two spies spin a web of deceit with Rome as the prize and death the only escape.
  • Cover scan of All I Said Was
    All I Said Was ...
    Michael Morpurgo - Paperback - Red Squirrel Books
    Imagination takes wing in this cleverly-crafted story about a boy who becomes a bird! A heart-warming and thrilling read with a powerful message about the power of books and stories.
  • BDS Thumbnail Image
    ABC, My Grannie Caught A Flea: Scots Children's Songs And Rhymes
    - Paperback - Birlinn
    Ewan McVicar, one of Scotland's best-known storytellers and song writers, has collected songs in over 40 Scottish schools to create this new condensed compendium of the 'hidden' songs of Scots childhood.
  • Cover scan of After Flodden
    After Flodden
    Rosemary Goring - Paperback - Polygon
    This historical novel, set in the 16th century, will appeal to fans of Rose Tremain and Hilary Mantel. 'After Flodden' is an unputdownable story of political intrigue and romance, as a courageous young woman refuses to give up her search. A vivid evocation of a violent, pitiless era, this portrait of ambition, love and revenge is a modern take on the lyrical and harsh border ballads of old.
  • Cover scan of All One Breath
    All One Breath
    John Burnside - Paperback - Cape Poetry
    John Burnside examines our shared experience of this mortal world: how we are 'all one breath' and - with that breath - how we must strive towards the harmony of choir. Recognising that our attitudes to other creatures - human and non-human - cause too much damage and hurt, that 'we've been going at this for years, these poems celebrate the fleeting, charged moments where, through measured and gracious encounters with other lives, we find our true selves, and bring some brief, insubstantial goodness and beauty into being.
  • Cover scan of Aberdeen
    Aberdeen
    Elma McMenemy - Paperback - The History Press
    Aberdeen has been inhabited for 8,000 years, since the first hunter-gatherers settled on the banks of the River Dee. From the slaughter of Aberdeen Castle's English garrison (part of a citizens' uprising in support of Robert the Bruce) to all-out assaults on the city by kings, royalists and Nazis, no century has left the city unmarked. This book looks at the clan feuds, wars, murderers, witches and covenanters who have all stained the silver city red with blood!
  • Cover scan of Andrew Grassie
    Andrew Grassie
    Darian Leader - Hardback - Rennie Collection
    Scottish-born Andrew Grassie's diminutive, hyper-realistic tempera paintings have a presence that neither photography nor oil painting can rival. This publication documents new works commissioned by Vancouver's Rennie Collection. With these paintings, Grassie allows the viewer a glimpse into a moment seldom experienced - a museum in a transitional state. Most importantly, these pictures within pictures provide a recursive portrait of one of North America's most significant collections of contemporary art.

Showing page 6 from 51

Ordering and View