BooksfromScotland.com Online Price

BooksfromScotland.com special book price button
There were 508 items found.
Showing page 6 from 51
  • Cover of Attack Of The Giant Robot Chickens
    Attack Of The Giant Robot Chickens
    Alex McCall - Paperback - Kelpies
    Why did the chicken cross the road? To take over the world!!! The city of Aberdeen is being terrorized by giant robot chickens who want to peck out every last sign of human resistance. The streets are empty, the adults have vanished - and those left behind are fighting for survival. Jesse and his friends are desperate to save their families and stop the feathered fiends. They hatch a master plan - but can a gang of kids really defeat an army of angry robot chickens?
  • Cover scan of Against A Tide Of Evil

    £7.64
    Against A Tide Of Evil: How One Man Became The Whistleblower To The First Mass Murder Of The Twenty-First Century
    Mukesh Kapila - Paperback - Mainstream Publishing
    When darkness stalked the plains of Africa one man stood alone to face the evil. In this no-holds-barred account, the former head of the United Nations in Sudan reveals the shocking depths of evil plumbed by those who designed and orchestrated 'the final solution' in Darfur. A veteran of humanitarian crisis and ethnic cleansing in Iraq, Rwanda, Srebrenica, Afghanistan and Sierra Leone, Mukesh Kapila arrived in Sudan in March 2003 having made a promise to himself that if he were ever in a position to stop the mass-killers, they would never triumph on his watch.
  • Cover scan of All The Rage
    All The Rage
    A. L. Kennedy - Hardback - Jonathan Cape
    Here, as before, lies the battlefield of the heart, where characters who have suffered disaffection, alienation or emotional damage somehow emerge - haltingly, awkwardly - into the astonishment of intimacy. And here, too, are the ones who will not shake off the hurt and the loss, who will not come through. The title story takes place on a railway platform, with a couple waiting for a train that never comes, and opens out into the husband's shocking admission of years of deceit, and a devastating portrait of a failed marriage, a failed man.
  • Cover scan of The Amber Fury
    The Amber Fury
    Natalie Haynes - Hardback - Corvus
    When Alex Morris loses her fiancé in dreadful circumstances, she moves from London to Edinburgh to make a break from the past. Alex takes a job at a Pupil Referral Unit, which accepts the students excluded from other schools in the city. These are troubled, difficult kids and Alex is terrified of what she's taken on. There is one class - a group of five teenagers - who intimidate Alex and every other teacher on The Unit. But with the help of the Greek tragedies she teaches, Alex gradually develops a rapport with them. Finding them enthralled by tales of cruel fate and bloody revenge, she even begins to worry that they are taking her lessons to heart, and that a whole new tragedy is being performed, right in front of her.
  • Cover scan of The Art Of War
    The Art Of War
    Manda Scott - Paperback - Corgi Books
    Rome, AD 69. Three Emperors have ruled in Rome this year and a fourth, Vespasian, has been named in the East. As the legions march toward civil war, Sebastos Pantera, the spy whose name means leopard, returns to Rome intent on bribery, blackmail and persuasion: whatever it takes to bring the commanders and their men to Vespasian's side. But in Rome, as he uses every skill he has ever learned of subterfuge, codes and camouflage, it becomes clear that one of those closest to him is a traitor, who will let Rome fall to destroy him. Together the two spies spin a web of deceit with Rome as the prize and death the only escape.
  • Cover scan of The Art Of War
    The Art Of War
    Manda Scott - Paperback - Corgi Books
    Rome, AD 69. Three Emperors have ruled in Rome this year and a fourth, Vespasian, has been named in the East. As the legions march toward civil war, Sebastos Pantera, the spy whose name means leopard, returns to Rome intent on bribery, blackmail and persuasion: whatever it takes to bring the commanders and their men to Vespasian's side. But in Rome, as he uses every skill he has ever learned of subterfuge, codes and camouflage, it becomes clear that one of those closest to him is a traitor, who will let Rome fall to destroy him. Together the two spies spin a web of deceit with Rome as the prize and death the only escape.
  • Cover scan of All I Said Was
    All I Said Was ...
    Michael Morpurgo - Paperback - Red Squirrel Books
    Imagination takes wing in this cleverly-crafted story about a boy who becomes a bird! A heart-warming and thrilling read with a powerful message about the power of books and stories.
  • BDS Thumbnail Image
    ABC, My Grannie Caught A Flea: Scots Children's Songs And Rhymes
    - Paperback - Birlinn
    Ewan McVicar, one of Scotland's best-known storytellers and song writers, has collected songs in over 40 Scottish schools to create this new condensed compendium of the 'hidden' songs of Scots childhood.
  • Cover scan of After Flodden
    After Flodden
    Rosemary Goring - Paperback - Polygon
    This historical novel, set in the 16th century, will appeal to fans of Rose Tremain and Hilary Mantel. 'After Flodden' is an unputdownable story of political intrigue and romance, as a courageous young woman refuses to give up her search. A vivid evocation of a violent, pitiless era, this portrait of ambition, love and revenge is a modern take on the lyrical and harsh border ballads of old.
  • Cover scan of All One Breath
    All One Breath
    John Burnside - Paperback - Cape Poetry
    John Burnside examines our shared experience of this mortal world: how we are 'all one breath' and - with that breath - how we must strive towards the harmony of choir. Recognising that our attitudes to other creatures - human and non-human - cause too much damage and hurt, that 'we've been going at this for years, these poems celebrate the fleeting, charged moments where, through measured and gracious encounters with other lives, we find our true selves, and bring some brief, insubstantial goodness and beauty into being.

Showing page 6 from 51

Ordering and View